50 Facebook and Instagram creators attend empowerment workshop in Lagos

By Aduragbemi Omiyale

A prolific Nigerian filmmaker, Mr. Alex Eyengho, has been selected as one of 52 recipients of the Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund (CESF) for film producers from West and Central Africa regions.

The fund will provide financial support to its grantees, including access to quality higher education in film and television-focused disciplines.

The Scholarship Fund for Sub-Saharan Students is part of Netflix’s global Creative Equity Fund, launched in 2021, which is a dedicated effort to help create new opportunities for underrepresented communities in entertainment.

Through this initiative, Netflix supports external organizations that are committed to creating equitable opportunities in the TV and film industries, as well as tailored Netflix programs that help us identify, train and provide jobs to promising talent. in the world.

Speaking at the unveiling of the beneficiaries at an event organized by the National Film and Video Censor Board (NFVCB) in Lagos, Netflix’s Director of Public Policy for Sub-Saharan Africa, Shola Sanni, said: “Netflix is about to take Nigeria to the world stage.

“Beyond that, our goal is to create a sustainable ecosystem to support talent and tell their stories. This is why we remain committed to the continent and to Nigeria.

“We care about growing talent and are passionate about the future of the industry and want to enable Nigerian creators to access the global market.

“That’s why today is about celebrating the scholars who will be tasked with telling African stories, whether in front of or behind the camera, it’s about putting Africa on the global map.”

Furthermore, an Executive Director of the NFVCB, Mr. Adedayo Thomas, said the agency was “impressed that this initiative has rewarded 52 beneficiaries from the region, with only 27 from Nigeria.”

“We will continue to enlist companies like Netflix to work with us to position the country as a skilled labor force.

“I strongly believe that this initiative is proof that Nigeria has the talent and ability to rise to the level of the global community, delivering top quality content. It also demonstrated our partners’ commitment to strengthening the talent pool.

“Providing job creation opportunities with creative young people who want to add value to their community and the creative economy as a whole,” he added.

Business post gathered that all recipients would receive a full scholarship which includes – tuition, accommodation, a living allowance and school supplies.

The program is currently administered by Dalberg in partnership with the region’s five higher education institutions who will support the formal qualification and training of aspiring creatives in the region.

The trio Alex Eyengho, Donatus Ekwuazi and Nicole Emechebe will train at PAN-Atlantic University (Nigeria); 24 beneficiaries will be at the National film institute Jos (Nigeria), and they are Nanmet Dakup, Grace Lasisi, Nkemakonam Onejeme, Timchang Miri, George-Isaac Dadzie, Joseph Ogbe, Anothony Nnaji, Aduragbemi Ogundiran, Oluyomi Taiwo, Evelyn Inyang, Emeka Ikpechukwu, Collins Okorocha, McRoberts Metseyinor, Fatgan Agati, Aisa Zerubabel, Blessing Izang, Stephen Okoh, Nifuk Mafuyai, Lois Bewarang, Samson Alaba, Ezichi Okeke, Rukayat Zubair, Mary Orjiakor and the divine gift Ibewuike.

Also, the duo Thephor Koumou-Mba and Adriana Ndemby will be at the Philippe Maury Institute of Audiovisual and Cinema (IPMAC) of the EM-Gabon University group (EMGU); while Samuel Laryea, Seth Aydin, Linda Amemordzi, Gilbert Carrey, Kakra Opare-Asiadu, Lydia Flika, Payin Opare-Asiadu, Magdaline Masopeh would be at the National Film and Television Institute (Ghana).

In addition, Sekinatou Bio, Belvina Djossou, Kate Djiwan, Mirabellel Tossa, Melvina Afanou, Lazarine Damando, Imelda Batamoussi, Zigan Jean-Pierre Medegoun, Elfrid Benon, Franck Anikakpo, Irésan Bassaley, Milka Degan, Chrétia Vodounon, Nouriyath Moussibayi and Claudia – Manuela Tanoh would be at the Higher Institute of Audiovisual Professions (ISMA) (Benin).